Jacksons TV Show Vol. 1 (Season 1) 1976 on DVD

Jacksons TV Show Vol. 1 (Season 1) 1976 on DVD

Your Price: $12.00
Part Number:5011

Looking for a pop act with youth appeal (that desperately needed TV exposure), CBS casts its eye toward The Jacksons in 1976. The group had fallen on hard times, this was after The Jackson 5's big hits ended in 1974 and before Michael Jackson's 'Off The Wall' album changed the face of music five years later. Joe Jackson signed Michael and his brothers to CBS-TV in 1976. 'The Jacksons' was a 30-minute program that ran for four weeks featuring the entire family (except Jermaine), with celebrity guest stars.
"We're the Jacksons!" Michael chirped to open the pilot which aired June 16, 1976. "All of you who were expecting The Osmonds, do not adjust the color on your set." The series scored some impressive ratings despite the fact that the variety show genre was becoming passé by the mid-'70s. As with the Jackson 5/The Jacksons regular performances, Michael Jackson was the lead performer in most musical and dance performances of the series.
This was the first time a black family had ever starred in a TV series, AND where the entire cast of a series were siblings. And if the show received decent ratings, there was a chance CBS might pick it up in January as a mid-season replacement.

Analogue tapes have been used as source for the recordings on this DVD.

The DVD contains the following episodes:

S1-Ep1 (original broadcast date: June 16, 1976)
Guest star: Sonny Bono

Songs performed:
· Forever Came Today *
· 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover (performed by Jackie)
· Love Will Keep Us Together (performed by Janet and Randy)
· Medley (More Than You Know/Am I Blue?/For Once In My Life/Try A Little Tenderness) (with Sonny Bono)
· Steppin' Out With My Baby *
· Dancing Machine
· I'll Be There *

S1-Ep2 (original broadcast date: June 23, 1976)
Guest star: Mackenzie Phillips

Songs performed:
· (You Were Made) Especially For Me *
· Do The Fonz *
· 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover (performed by Jackie)
· A Little Bit Country, A Little Bit Rock And Roll (performed by Janet and Randy)
· Deep Purple (performed by Janet and Randy)
· Convoy *
· Junkfood Junkie (with Mackenzie Phillips)
· Ben (performed by Michael)
· Goin' Back To Indiana
· I'll Be There *

S1-Ep3 (original broadcast date: June 30, 1976)
Guest star: Ed McMahon

Songs performed:
· Rockin' Robin *
· 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover (performed by Jackie)
· Flat Foot Floogie (performed by Michael, Marlon, Jackie, La Toya and Rebbie)
· Show Me The Way To Go Home (performed by Ed McMahon)
· World Of Sunshine (performed by Michael)
· Save The Bones For Henry Jones *
· The Love You Save
· I'll Be There *

S1-Ep4 (original broadcast date: July 7, 1976)
Guest star: Joey Bishop

Songs performed:
· ABC *
· Fever (performed by Rebbie, Michael and Marlon)
· 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover (performed by Jackie)
· I Got You Babe (performed by Janet and Randy)
· Down By The Old Mill Stream (with Joey Bishop)
· Never Can Say Goodbye
· I'll Be There *

* Also featuring the Jackson Sisters


This region-free DVD-R is in NTSC format and will play on most Gaming consoles and DVD Players made since 2000, and comes in a FULL SIZE DVD case, with cover art and track listing.

US First class shipping is FREE! US Priority shipping on this item is $4.00. International shipping is $5.00.  If NO international shipping is paid, DVD will be sent without hard case, cover art will still be included

Credit card payment or Money order ships next day. Personal check ships in 7 days.

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items

© Maximum Sound, All rights reserved.• eCommerce website design by QeRetail